Religulous

Here comes the controversy.

My second post on this blog was about a movie.  Not everyone agreed with me, which is fine.  Someone’s about to stir the pot some more.  Bill Maher has a movie releasing soon, Religulous, in which he documents what he sees as the foolishness and ultimately the danger inherit in religion.

I can see the storm brewing.

Honestly, I haven’t seen too much backlash yet, but I think the movie has flown under the radar of many thus far since it’s a documentary and not a blockbuster release.  But let’s take a moment before anything else and agree to approach this with some grace?  Can we avoid petitions trying to stop the movie, and email campaigns sent to the movie studios?  Could be possibly boycott . . . nobody?

Lashing out in anger and protesting the movie will just make the movie’s point in many ways for it, and will change zero minds of those who may agree with it’s precepts.

Do I agree with the conclusions this movie makes?*No, I do not.   Do I think the approach is unfair?  Probably.*  Is Bill Maher justified in his conclusions?  Um, more on that later.

For adults, I would approach this movie with a personal challenge if anything.  How strong are you in your faith?  Can it take a beating?  Can it coexist with questions?

More thoughts on this topic to come.

*No, I have not seen this movie yet.  Yes, I will see it at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

