The Hermeneutics Quiz

All right, everyone together, say “hermenuetics!”

That was fun.  Ok, so we all love those little internet quizzes, right?  When are you going to die, will you find true love, what’s your favorite color . . . all answered in 10-20 thought-provoking soul-searching questions.

A month or so ago I came across the hermeneutics quiz put together by Scot McNight, who you can read at Jesus Creed.  (By the way, hermeneutics is just the way you interpret the Bible.)  Anyhow, the idea here is to rate you as conservative, moderate, or progressive in your interpretation.  It’s very interesting to see how you turn out.  Some leaders have taken it and disagreed with their rating, others liked the quiz.

I think what you have to keep in mind is this is a broad, blunt tool.  It doesn’t define you, it’s just a general way of categorizing and looking at your beliefs.  Of course someone who is progressive would probably say that the need for categorization is itself a very modern trend.   But let’s not split hairs (or is that the point?)

At the very least it forces you to think about what you believe, which I am always for.  It also forces you to think about how you approach the Bible; what are your preconceived notions?  I would take the 10 minutes or so for the test; you may be intrigued, insulted, annoyed, frustrated, or educated.

So take the quiz.

(By the way, I scored a 68 which puts me at slightly progressive according to the test)

3 Responses

  1. OK, I scored a 55. How funny is it that you are more liberal hippie than I am? ; )

  2. I scored a 38 which is not surprising I know I am very conservative when it comes to what the Bible says.

    This was very interesting and I highly recommend it.

    Thanks Stephen!

  3. Keep in mind that Biblical Hermeneutics is not just our interpretation of the Bible. It is the science of interpretating the Bible. The aim is to explain and illustrate the various principles of Bible interpretation which must be followed if one is to understand the teachings of God’s Word correctly. As J.Edwin Hartwill (author of Principles of Biblical Hermeneutics – book that I used in college) put it “Such a study is pivotal to anyone who studies the Bible. Unless consistent principles of interpreting it’s passages are followed the truth of God becomes blurred and confused. Determing what the Bible means must precede all application of its words to the lives of its readers and hearers.” There are 24 principles that can be used in Biblical Interpretation. A thorough knowledge of these will prove enlighting. They may also prove to change your score from the famed “Quiz”. However many Christians, unless they decide to be a scholar, pastor or teacher, will never learn about these principles. Because of this I suggest a Christian that is eager to learn about the Bible get the book by Rick Warren “Personal Bible Study Methods – 12 ways to study the Bible on your own”. I hope this helps. I took the Quiz and my score was what I thought it would be. :)
    Great Subject
    Pastor Kevin

Leave a Reply

