Motivation by Humiliation

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions, just in general. It’s almost like the point is to break them, and then by January 5th you just feel like a bad person. Maybe that’s a little cynical.

Which doesn’t matter because I’m sort-of making one. I say sort of because my wife and our friends have been discussing this before the new year, and it just worked out around resolution time.

What am I talking about? Getting in shape, once and for all. That’s right, the classic New Year’s resolution. Beth and I decided with our friends that it was time to just get on it and stop complaining about being out of shape. For our part, we eat really very healthy, we just don’t exercise and we really eat too much of a good thing.

So, goals . . . we’re going long term, but our first mini goal is for 6 months from now. My goal is in 6 months to have lost 25lbs putting me at around 240 or so. Beth’s 6 month goal is actually 5 months. She will drop 3 dress sizes by her friends wedding in May.

We plan to do this by exercising, drinking more water, taking in fewer calories, and with that dropping sugary stuff like sodas. (Diet soda is ok). We figure those goals are easily attainable if we are trying at all. For instance 25lbs is roughly one pound a week. Totally doable.

Our long term goal is to be totally healthy and happy with the shape we are in, to teach our daughter a healthy lifestyle through example, and to honor God by taking care of our bodies.

Beth and I have promised each other that if we do not reach our goals, after 6 months a very unflattering “before” photo will be posted on this blog. So if you read this blog that should encourage you to keep me accountable!

Motivation by humiliation.

2 Responses

  1. I am partially hoping you don’t reach the goal just to see the photo!! We need something to discuss at Church and why not talk about the youth pastor and his great photo!! ha ha

    On another note… I think you are doing a great job and have a long ways from that shy guy I new way back when. You have a beautiful family and Beth is absolutely wonderful too. You just gotta love that girl!! Of course she is a million laughs too.

    Have a wonderful new year and I half hope you reach your goal. ha ha
    Arwen

  2. […] Renew and continue the Motivation by Humiliation ( I did meet my goal last year, […]

Leave a Reply

